Abhirup Sarkar to be State’s Pay Commission Chairman


Kolkata: west Bengal government to select economist Abhirup Sarkar selected as the Chairman and Amal Raichowdhury Selected as the Secretary for the Sixth pay commission with, sources said.

After the pay commission released of the centre last week, it’s time for the state to gear up to select Abhirup. He is a professor at the Indian Statistical Institute currently and Amal Raichowdhury is the Secretary of labour Department.

State Chief Secretary Sanjay Mitra has called up Abhirup and proposed the post of chairman of the sixth pay commission of state, which he readily accepted, says Nabanna Sources. Notices are to be quickly hanged regarding this matter says administrative sources.

Last Thursday, the pay commission for the central government employees has been submitted. There has been a hike of 23% in overall. In proportion to the central government employees, the state government employees are receiving 54% less DA. According to state government, due to scarcity of funds, the centre must take responsibility for the increased wages.

As per state government’s calculation the state has to bear the responsibility of Rs. 84 thousand Crores in the next four years. However, state government’s employees are eagerly anticipating the rate of hike in the salaries.