76% & 75% Votes Cast In Uluberia, Noapara By-Poll


Kolkata: According to the Election official, the By-Poll Election Of Uluberia and Noapara was peaceful. Over 76 per cent of the electorate in West Bengal’s Uluberia Lok Sabha constituency and 75.3 per cent in the Noapara Assembly seat voted in the bypolls.

The Uluberia Lok Sabha seat has 15,77,396 voters and the Noapara Assembly seat, 2,46,522 voters. The results of the by-elections will be announced on February 1. “Till the end of polling at 5 pm Uluberia Lok Sabha recorded 76.7 per cent polling whereas Noapara recorded 75.3 per cent. The polling was completely peaceful,” the senior official said.

The elections were necessitated by the death of Sultan Ahmed, the sitting TMC MP from Uluberia, and of Madhusudan Ghose, Congress MLA from the Noapara Assembly seat.

The TMC, which has held the Uluberia seat since 2009, has fielded Sultan Ahmed’s widow, Sajda, from the constituency. The CPI(M)-led Left Front nominated Sabiruddin Molla, the Congress fielded S K Madassar Hossain Warsi and the BJP, its district committee leader, Anupam Mallik. Five independent candidates are also in the fray for the Lok Sabha seat.

In Noapara, the TMC has fielded Sunil Singh, the CPI(M), Gargi Chatterjee and the Congress, Goutam Bose. Sandip Banerjee of the BJP is also in the fray.