710 Companies Of Central Forces In Phase 7 In WB


Kolkata: Notwithstanding with the violence that took place in the phase six of Lok Sabha election, The Election Commission on Monday said that all the booths in phase seven LS poll will be manned by central forces on May 19.

Total number of 710 companies of central forces will be deployed in all the constituencies that will go for poll on next Sunday.

Special Police observer for West Bengal, Vivek Dubey, talking to the media said that as many as 710 companies of central forces will be deployed in West Bengal for the seventh phase of elections on May 19.

The Deputy Election Commissioner on his visit to Bengal said that, all the booths will be under strong surveillance in the last phase. He came to Kolkata for giving training to the polling officials.

“The 710 companies will be providing 100 per cent coverage in the state. It will include 512 Quick Response Teams led by Assistant Commandants,” Dubey added.

The Central Police Observer would be travelling to all the constituencies between Wednesday and Friday to review arrangements.

The city will soon witness area domination and route marches conducted by the armed forces, said Dubey, who held a meeting with top-police officers to give them necessary instructions.

Nine parliamentary constituencies namely Dum Dum, Barasat, Basirhat, Jaynagar, Mathurapur, Diamond Harbour, Jadavpur, Kolkata Dakshin, Kolkata Uttar will vote on Sunday. The votes will be counted on May 23.