7 municipalities to go under polls on June 14


Kolkata: The  seven municipalities will go under polls on June 14, 2015. The counting of votes has been scheduled on June 16 and the election notice will be issued by the State Election Commission on May 20, 2015. The above dates were confirmed by the SEC after a detailed meeting on Monday. Earlier the Calcutta High Court had ordered the SEC to hold the elections of the 7 municipalities by June 16. Going by the order, the State Election Commission has decided on June 14 to be the date of the elections. On the other hand, the State government had moved the Supreme Court challenging the judgement of the High Court to hold the elections by June 16. The hearing of the case filed by the State government is scheduled to be heard at the Apex Court on Tuesday