7 Interesting Facts About Indian Constitution


As the utmost comprehensive manuscript in the world, the Indian Constitution highlights the sovereign, socialist and secular nature of the country which promises its citizens of justice, equality and liberty.
Here are 7 incredible facts about the Indian Constitution which we all must know.

1. The Constituent Assembly met for the first time in New Delhi on 9 December, 1946 in the Constitution Hall which is now known as the Central Hall of Parliament House.

2. The Constituent Assembly consisted of 385 members, of which 292 were elected by the elected members of the Provincial Legislative Assemblies while 93 members were nominated by the Princely States. To these were to be added a representative each from the four Chief Commissioners Provinces of Delhi, Ajmer-Marwar, Coorg and British Baluchistan.

3. The Constitution was passed and accepted on Nov 26, 1949. The session of the Assembly was held on Jan 24, 1950, which unanimously elected Dr. Rajendra Prasad as the President of India.

4. The Constituent Assembly has 15 women members – Ammu Swaminathan, Dakshayani Velayudan, Begum Aizaz Raisul, Vijalakshmi Pandit and Sarojini Naidu to name a few.

5. The idea of the suspension of Fundamental Rights during the emergency was taken from Weimar Constitution of Germany.

6. The idea of Nominal Head – President (like Queen), Cabinet System of Ministers, Post of PM, Parliamentary Type of Govt Bicameral Parliament, Lower House more powerful were borrowed from UK Constitution.

7. President of India has to be atleast 35-year-old and there is no upper limit on the number of times a person can become the President.