6 Congress MLAs To Take Oath In Major Karnataka Cabinet Reshuffle


Bengaluru: The Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee on Saturday announced that the six remaining posts in the state cabinet are set to be filled in the Janata Dal (Secular)-Congress coalition government. The state Congress party has also stated that two of its ministers have been removed from their respective posts.

“We are filling six remaining Cabinet posts and replacing two ministers… Ramesh Jarkiholi and R Shankar have been removed,” Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee president Dinesh Gundu Rao said.

Among those assuming posts today are Satish Jarkiholi of Yemkanamardi, E Tukaram of Sandur, M B Patil of Babaleshwar, C S Shivalli of Kundgol, M T B Nagaraju of Hosakote, P T Parameshwaranaik of Hadagalli and Rahim Khan of Bidar, the news report said.

Earlier this month, Karnataka Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy asserted that the alliance between his Janata Dal (Secular) and the Congress party was strong “as a rock”, amid claims by the opposition Bharatiya Janata Party that the coalition government could collapse anytime. Even as Kumaraswamy sought to dispel doubts about the longevity of the coalition government, former CM and Congress leader Siddaramaiah also moved to put to rest any speculation. He said the state government will go in for a Cabinet expansion on December 22, today.