5 Separatists IPFT Leaders Join BJP In Tripura


Agartala: In a boost to the BJP ahead of the Tripura Assembly elections which are due this year, five separatists leaders of the Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) on Tuesday joined the saffron party on Tuesday.

IPFT leaders – Subhash Reang and Debendra Debbarma -and three youth leaders of the party – Ramananda Debbarma, Pushrai Debbarma and Sunil Tripura joined BJP at the state party headquarters here.

Tripura BJP in-charge, Sunil Deodhar handed them saffron flags and inducted them in the party, BJP Tripura spokesperson, Mrinal Kanti Deb told reporters. Deodhar claimed that more leaders from other parties would join the BJP during the visit of the party national president, Amit Shah on January 7.

“If anybody with clean image wants to join our party, they are welcome”, he said. Asked about the prospect of alliance with IPFT, Deodhar, a National Executive member of BJP said, “We can forge alliance with a party who are not divisive. Unless they leave the demand for a separate state by carving out a portion of Tripura, we cannot make any alliance with them”.

When contacted, over phone, IPFT general secretary, Mewar Kumar Jamatiya, said, “Someone informed us about the joining. But I can tell you that those people do not belong to our party and even I do not know them”.