5 Investigation Centres For Crimes Against Women


Kolkata: The State Cabinet, on December 19, took a slew of decisions to further strengthen policing in Bengal.

Five investigation centres, including one in Kolkata, will be set up for crimes against women. The decision has been taken for better policing that will ensure safety and security of women. As many as 94 posts will be created for the five investigation centres.

Three more police stations will be set up. In South 24 Parganas district, Narendrapur police station will be set up by bifurcating the jurisdiction of Sonarpur police station. In Nadia district, Palashipara police station will be set up by reducing the jurisdiction of Tehatta police station.

In Purulia district, Tamna police station will be set up by bifurcating the jurisdictions of Purulia Mafatsal and Kenda police stations.

Consequently posts have been created for the new police stations – 52 for Narendrapur, 37 for Palashipara and 42 for Tamna.