4 TMC Leaders Among MPs Set To End Rajya Sabha Term


New Delhi: 10 leaders are expected to end their terms in Rajya Sabha in July and August. Of them four are affiliated to Trinamool Congress including All-India spokesperson Derek O’ Brien.

Union Minister Smriti Irani, CPM general secretary Sitaram Yechury are the other notable leaders.

Elections for the seats, which lie across Bengal, Gujarat and Goa, will be held on June 8.

Of the 10 members, four are from Trinamool Congress, three from Congress, two from BJP and one from the CPM. The members, however, will be able to vote for the Presidential elections, which are due before July 24.

Read More: Rajya Sabha Polls: TMC Nominates Senior Leader Manish Gupta

The term of Ms Irani is expected to end on August 18. Congress’s Ahmed Patel and BJP’s Dilipbhai Pandya will also end their terms with her.

The tenure of members from West Bengal – TMC’s Mr O’Brien, Debabrata Bandhopadhyay, Sukhenduhakhar Roy and Dola Sen and Congress’s Pradip Bhattacharya, are also ending on August 18.

The parties are yet to announce future plans for these leaders.

Previous articlePost CBI, ED To File Case Against Karti Chidambaram, INX Media
Next articleAll Eyes On Much Awaited ICJ’s Verdict On Jadhav Case