26 Naxals arrested in Bijapur


Bijapur: In a major crackdown on the Maoists, 26 Naxals were arrested from various places of Chattishgarh’s Bijapur district over the past three days.

According to police, the Naxals who were arrested on Wednesday, had long pending warrants against them in several cases including loot arson, murder, attacks of security personnel and triggering bomb blasts.

- Advertisement -

Most of them worked as Sangham members while the others served in LOS (local operation squad) in the past, said Bijapur Additional Superintendent of Police Indira Kalyan Elesela.

A plan was chalked out to nab the rebels and after tracing their locations, police teams were mobilized at Gangaloor, Madded, Mirtur and Bhpalpattnam.

Among the arrested, Kursam Ramesh (25), Karam Satyam (25) and Dubba Samaiya were involved in triggering blast on the convoy of BJP MLA Mahesh Gagda (presently forest and law minister in Raman Singh's Cabinet) and Bijapur Collector in April 2012 in the forested Pegrapalli area under Madded police station limits.