21 Councillors To Move No-Confidence Motion Against Arjun Singh

File Photo

Kolkata: Twenty one Trinamool Congress councillors will move a no-confidence motion against Arjun Singh, chairman of the Bhatpara Municipality.

The councillors met Firhad Hakim, the state Urban Development and Municipal Affairs minister, Jyotipriya Mallick, the state Food and Supplies minister and president of the North 24-Parganas unit of the party and Partha Bhowmick, party MLA from Naihati on Monday afternoon.

A letter bringing no-confidence motion against Singh and signed by 21 councillors was sent to the SDO. A copy of the letter was sent to Singh.

Bhatpara Municipality currently has 34 councillors. To retain the municipality, Trinamool Congress needs the support of 17 councillors.

Mallick said the councillors have informed that they had received full support from party supremo Mamata Banerjee and had no intention to cross the floor and join Singh. He said four councillors who were still in two minds, would settle for Trinamool Congress.

As per the Municipal Rules, the chairman of the municipality will have to convene a meeting to discuss the no-confidence motion within 15 days. In his absence, the vice-chairman can convene the meeting. The councillors will cast their votes in secret ballots.

Bhowmick said that the councillors had formally decided to bring no-confidence motion against Singh on Sunday and the matter received a formal approval on Monday.

Singh said that the secret ballot would clear the picture. Interestingly, he has not yet submitted his resignation from the position of MLA.