10 Sentenced To Death In Hasina’s Assassination Attempt


Dhaka: A Dhaka court has ordered execution of 10 people accussed in the assassination attempt of the current Prime Minister and Awami League chief Sheikh Hasina. Judge Momtaz Begum of the Speedy Trial Tribunal-2, on Sunday, announced the verdict. However, 10 people have been acquitted.

About 17 years ago, a lawsuit was filed under the Special Powers Act against an attempted murder plotted against Hasina at a public meeting in Gopalganj – her hometown.

In the same case, one accused has been sentenced to life and three others to 14 years of rigorous imprisonment, with a fine of Taka 10,000.

The convicts are Wasim Akhter alias Tarek Hossain, Rashed driver alias Abul Kalam, Yusuf alias Mooshab, Sheikh Farid, Hafiz Jahangir Alam Badar, Maulana Abu Bakar alias Hafez Salim Hawlader, Hafez Maulana Yahya, Mufti Shafiqur Rahman, Mufti Abdul Hai and Maulana Abdur Rouf alias Muft Rauf.

Mehedi Hasan alias Abdul Wadud got life imprisonment. Nine people have been sentenced to 20 years of imprisonment and fined Taka 20,000 under the Explosive Substances Control Act. In addition, four acquittals were found under the same Act.

On July 22, 2000, a powerful explosive was detected during Hasina’s rally in Kotalipara of Gopalganj, in the premises of Sheikh Lutfar Rahman Government Model College ground. Hasina was here to give a speech. Search team recovered 76 kilograms of explosives from the spot. Next day on July 23, a bomb weighing 40 kg was recovered.

In this connection, the police of Kotlipara Police Station filed cases against the accused under the Explosive Substances Control Act.